Popular Misconceptions of Happiness [Bonus Edition]

by Elemae



*2nd Pressing Edition released by Embrace Records [Malaysia] in conjunction with Engineer Records [UK/USA]. Contains bonus material: mini-movie, expanded artwork/digipak + free poster and sticker giveaway. *NOTE: Bonus Edition contains all tracks in the regular release [on separate bandcamp album link] in addition to the Shudder To Think tribute song [on separate bandcamp album link] and this unique instrumental track, previously unavailable elsewhere. Other tracks can be heard within the other albums to avoid duplicates.

1. Sleeping With Adrenaline
2. Disappointment Book
3. Soulsweeper
4. Worthwhile
5. Happily Cinematic
6. Kamikaze
7. Soapbox Podium
8. Country Pink
9. To Heel The Sole
10. End A Year
11. The Fall of Summer
12. Sleeprise
*13 X-French Tee Shirt (Shudder To Think)
*14. The Earth Stopped and the Bottle Fell

Both bold and beautiful in an instant, Elemae's follow-up long-player album to their Sleeping With Adrenaline single, is finally at our fingertips. The new 12-track CD entitled Popular Misconceptions of Happiness is a strong move forward for an already ambitious group. With the powerful catchiness in opening tracks "Sleeping With Adrenaline, " and "Disappointment Book," to the hazy dream-pop of "Soulsweeper" and "The Fall of Summer," this disc will instantly attach to your senses, and linger in your mind for ages to come. Running the gamut of influences—from post-hardcore to shoegaze, from alternative to tinges of classic rock, 'Popular Misconceptions of Happiness' paints many pictures for us to choose from.

Layers of clean and distorted guitars fill up the mix alongside booming drums and percussive accompaniments. Melodic vocals, lush and layered keyboards alongside splashes of odd instrumentation, give body to their work. Elemae did not let time get in the way of producing, recording, mixing—honing their craft.

Past comparisons have been made to the melodic leanings of Chamberlain, Sense Field, Jawbox and Swervedriver, yet Elemae evolved so graciously into their own. Try this album, there's something for everyone.


released February 5, 2007

Written and Produced by Elemae at Smatta Wichu Studios, Fredon, NJ. Engineered by Chris Homentosky. Mastered by Chris Badami at Portrait Recording Studios.

• Chris Homentosky - Electric & Acoustic Guitars
• Craig Cirinelli - Microphone
• Dan Nolan - Drums, Percussion
• Mark Cooper - Bass Guitar
• Mark McKenna - Keys, Synths



all rights reserved